Skip to content
July 13, 2012 / snowvols

Last 2 Years

2 years or 731 days ago due to the leap year, I took a heck of a chance. I packed all of my stuff up and moved to Utah and made huge life changes. Wow is all I can say. I remember starting the journey on July 13, 2010 and being pretty nervous about the move. Most people don’t move 1800 miles from friends and family. It is a big deal especially when you don’t actually know anyone in West of the Mississippi River. Life is crazy.

I made the drive in three days since I only wanted to be around the wheel around 12 hours or so a day. It was a fun trip full of the unknown. All I knew was I had a job that I started that Monday. I knew of one person out here basically because of twitter https://twitter.com/burritosandsnow. Daniel has become a good friend and it is awesome how the internetz can put you in place with people.

When I found out I got this job I knew I had to accept it. I have wanted to move west since my first trip to the Rockies to snowboard. I went to Vail and knew the west was the best. Moving has helped me grow up so much as well. I have had to become a lot more dependent upon myself since this is all I have.

During the move, I stopped one night in Rock Springs, WY and went for a nice run that next morning. Rock Springs, WY is at slightly under 6400 vertical feet it about killed me. I was thinking holy cow these last two days of sitting on my butt have made me lose all of my fitness. Clearly I wasn’t thinking, going from under 1000 vertical feet and then trying to run at 6400 was rather comical. Once I made the connection about the elevation, I still didn’t let it slow me down. Why would I? The mountains are the reason why I moved here. I have to remind myself of that from time to time, but it is totally worth it.

I have changed so much in these two short years, both physically and mentally. I am now down 102 pounds total in over 2 years. I have really taken up running where I am to the point I long for my runs. I love the runner high that accompanies a nice workout. Running has helped me broaden my horizons of exercising to the point of doing triathlons. So now I love to swim, bike, and then go for a run. I used to be the fat kid that hated to run, but now I have to have my long run.

There have been so many life changes in the last two years it blows my mind. Look at what I have done even in the past year: ran my first half marathon, ran 3 separate marathons, several sprint and Olympic distance triathlons, signed up for an Ironman, bought a car, and even put an offer in on a house. Holy cow I have done a lot this past year. It has been rather focused upon training so I haven’t had as much time for a personal life, but that happens. I have met so many wonderful people off of the tri team I am on though.

When I lived in Indiana, I hated the weekends. I hate sitting around and watching TV but that is generally what I would do in Indiana. I have always had a burning desire for triathlons even when I was 280 I wanted to be a triathlete. What kind of triathlete weighs 280 though? Now I long for the weekend. It is when I can go on 4 hour runs or 4+ hour long bike rides. I can run to the mountains and snowboard all day or just hike around. Being outside in Utah is so much different than anywhere else I have lived.

It is crazy how much fun my life is. When I talk to friends from college they tell me about how I used to talk about moving west, but they would brush me off. I would have done the same thing. What business did I have moving west? I knew no one out here, I was in what I thought a serious relationship, and who in the world would hire me out here? Well things changed and boom got a job offer. Now they tell me they are so glad for me that I moved and how happy I am.

Two years ago I didn’t know exactly where I would be or happy I would be, but I took a chance. That’s what life is all about taking chances and getting outside of your comfort zone. Life is too short to sit back in your box and think man I should have done this different. I see way too many people that are unhappy with their own life. I might be 26, but I could not imagine myself with a child let alone a wife in where I am in my life. Take a step outside of your own comfort zone and take a chance with something. You never know, it might change your life for the better.

Life’s too short not to be happy. Do what makes you happy in life.

Photo: http://snurfer.blogspot.com/

I leave you with this quote. There is a lot of power behind.

“In the end, it’s not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away”

- Shing Xiong

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Harmon / Jul 13 2012 2:16 pm

    So happy for you, Logan! It really is incredible how much you have accomplished in two years and you should be really proud. I’m glad I can say I knew ya when ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

