Skip to content
August 14, 2012 / snowvols

Am I ready for my Half-iron?

It has been a month since I have posted anything which means there is less than two weeks from my first half-ironman distance race. 70.3 miles of pure joy I will face on August 25, 2012. I have not put the training in that I originally thought I would have been able to. I mostly blame burnout on this. It seems I continue to look for excuses to not train. My favorite is that it is too hot outside. What kind of sissy am I using this excuse?

In order to become an Ironman, don’t I have to relish in all weather conditions? It has been extremely hot summer here and work seems to beat me down to the point I don’t want to do anything after work. I will be ready though. I mainly am going to rely on my mental strength to get me through the race. I know it is going to hurt, especially the run. My running fitness isn’t where it needs to be. I have had a couple really good runs in the last couple months, but I have had countless awful runs. I love to run but it is frustrating seeing 8:00+ on my lap times.

I was originally shooting for a certain time, but I think I might end up scaling the goal time back to more realistic times. I have swum but not enough, biked but not enough, and ran but not enough. Now I am about to run a half-ironman. This will surely be a mental test for me. Over the last year or so I have gotten much tougher mentally where I enjoy pain and hills.

Getting that certain time was what I thought I wanted, but now I am ready for it to be over. My motivation is low, sure, but, I have done tougher things. It is only 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile ride, and then a 13.1 mile run. A year ago I would have fainted thinking of doing this distance. I am not nervous at all about the race like I am for marathons. I know I can do this and I expect to have fun but also do well. Sometimes it sucks putting pressure on myself, but in order to get better the pressure is required. Look at this photo, Provo=FLAT

I will get lucky though since the Utah Half-ironman, http://www.racetri.com/the-utah-half/, is a VERY flat course. I will not taper like I have for every other A race this year. I am just going to go out and give it my best though. I will finish and hopefully do OK. I know I will be frustrated with my time, but my body is CRAVING relaxation. After the race though I can focus on things I have neglected all summer, friends and hiking. I haven’t even picked up my golf clubs this year it is just train, train, and more training.

I have had a couple relay races I did the past couple weeks. My favorite out of the two was the R-Scape Relay, http://www.r-scape.com/ ,it was so much fun! I got to do it with my tri team and it consisted of 10K loops on trails from 6PM to noon the next day. There was hardly any sleep involved and some good times with friends. I was not happy with my running times on the splits, but there was a lot of vertical. However, putting in 3 laps really helped my running confidence out. I haven’t ran over 8 miles since my last marathon. Yea I can’t believe it either. I didn’t get chicked either so that makes races much more enjoyable.

After the big half-ironman, I am going to take time to just relax and run some for fun races with friends, i.e. mud runs. I also have a couple things I want to do before it starts snowing in terms of hiking/trail running. I am planning on hitting all four major peaks from the Salt Lake skyline in 24 hours. I do not know the mileage this will take or the vertical, but it seems like it will be an adventure. I also plan on hitting kings peak in a day with a buddy flying out from Tennessee. That poor sap doesn’t know what he is in for to trail run the highest peak in Utah.

Once these adventures are over, I am hoping the snow starts to fly. There are several big lines that are on the list this year to hit. I will make a post later about the lines that are on the list, but there are several. I am hoping this will be an amazing winter. I will start getting serious about Ironman training around the first of the year. Balancing snowboarding and training is going to be difficult since the volume for a full Ironman is so much more than just a marathon. I know it will all be worth it though.

Just remember no matter what you do, Think Snow and how awesome this would look with snow.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Doug / Aug 14 2012 11:55 am

    Totally relate to your situation. Its a challenge finding that perfect balance of progression and recovery while still living everyday life. No matter, always try to have fun!
    When are you tagging King’s Peak?

    • snowvols / Aug 14 2012 12:13 pm

      Doug,

      Looks like I am shooting for Sept 2 or 3rd to get Kings. You are welcomed to join us. Might head out under head lamp to get it in the day. Also plan on running some but not too bad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

