Skip to content
April 4, 2012 / snowvols

Little Road Rash to Start the Training Season

Who would ever think that riding a bike was dangerous? While trying to train for my next race, The Legacy Duathlon, the thought never popped into my mind until I was on the ground.  I wanted to take my bike out for its first proper ride.  I had bought a brand new Tri-Bike a week early, but unable to ride it due to various issues.  So I took it out and settled into a nice groove of about 19 mph.  I wasn’t pushing it, but rather enjoying the sunshine after work.  Close to the end of my first loop though, it all changed.  A car decided to speed by me so they could turn right into a shopping center.

Why do people insist on passing cyclists or runners just to turn right in front of them?  This is one thing that irritates me so much.  People do not look for anything other than vehicles when they drive.  If you are friends with me on Daily Mile http://www.dailymile.com/people/LoganJ  you know that I encounter cars all the time on my runs.  Normally they end with me punching the car or just yelling obscenities at the driver.  People are truly clueless to others.  I could rant about this issue for an easy 5,000 words, but I will save you from reading that.

So to continue my story, I was pedaling on along a going through a green light with ease.  There was a turn lane that the people coming off of State St could turn onto 6600 South without having to stop.  So I changed lanes to get in the far right lane.  Now this car sped past me which is generally no big deal, but he then decided he wanted to turn into the strip mall that I was passing.  Well the turn in was about 20 feet ahead of me when he opted to get over.  So he slams on his brakes in order to decelerate enough to pull into the parking lot.

Guess what I do?  Since I am in the aero position on my tri bike, I stand my back up and lock brakes up.  Since it is now spring time in the Salt Lake Valley, there is gravel on a lot of the roads.  Joy was the first thing I was thinking while my back tire started to slide.  Then I went over the handle bars thinking, “Oh no, this is really going to hurt.”  Well I was sliding along the asphalt and sidewalk thinking this doesn’t hurt as bad as it could have.

I stood up quickly looked around to locate my bike.  Yes, the first thing I thought of was if my bike was ok.  After I looked at my baby, I focused my attention to myself.  I was a wreck.  I had road rash all over the right side of my body!  To credit the guy he did stop to see if I was ok.  The guy seemed pretty concerned about me so I wasn’t too pissed off at him.  I was rather frustrated at the situation though.

The bike has some minor scratches on it and now the derailer needs to be tightened up.  I also go blood on all over the grips due to not wearing gloves.  I will admit this was not how I expected the bike ride to go at all.  The funny part is about the entire ordeal was this was really the first time I had gone out for a bike ride with a helmet.  Since I bought my bike, I decided I needed to go ahead and purchase a helmet.  It is USAT regulations for all participants to wear their helmet.  Lucky me! My face and head would have been in piss poor shape if I had not worn my helmet.

I really wish motorists were more aware of bikers and joggers that are on the sidewalk or the bike lane.  If there isn’t a bike lane the bike is still supposed to be on the road, so please move your car over.  There are people trying to enjoy their own day without you running them off the road or hitting them.  Below are a few photos of the carnage.  I have been unable to exercise for two days because of the road rash.  I am going to try a quick 5 mile run tonight though.  Hopefully the rash stays scabbed over.

Now I do have a race in 10 days that will require me to ride my bike for 22 miles.  I have only truly ridden my bike once.  I know this is setting up for disaster, but I expect to make up the bike time on the run.  The run is broken up into two different 5Ks.  If I can’t make time up on the run then I am truly blowing it.  Hopefully everything will go according to plan, and I can use this long weekend to prepare for the various races I have planned.  I do have a 20 mile run Saturday and I am hoping to squeeze about 40 miles out of the bike this weekend.

https://ironmaninthesnow.wordpress.com/race-schedule-and-results/

The right leg.

My right arm.  This is more difficult to see the rash on it.

My right hand.

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. L J (@Dabobie) / Apr 4 2012 4:12 pm

    OHHHHMYYYYYGODDDDD.

    I’m so glad you’re ok, I was toggling between being pissed off and wanting to cry…this is a nightmare story but you’re right, thank God you were wearing a helmet.

  2. Snurfer / Apr 5 2012 6:49 am

    Dude that blows, glad you had your helmet 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Legacy Duathlon Long Course Recap « ironmaninthesnow

Leave a comment