Skip to content
April 18, 2012 / snowvols

Why I want to be an Ironman

I started this blog to chronicle my journey of becoming an Ironman.  I want to be able to use this as a way to go back and view the struggles and hardships that I encounter on my journey.  Personally, there is a lot of respect for someone when I see they have an M-Dot tattoo.  I have always been intrigued by the sport of triathlons.  I have always watched triathlons on TV especially when NBC airs the Kona race in September.  While sitting on the couch at nearly 280 I never believed I could ever compete in any distance race, but now I am slimmed down and ready to tackle the next adventure.

I know I am a daydreamer.  A lot of people think about their future, a girl, money, but I am different.  I learned I do not need any of that.  I am different since those types of things do not motivate me as they do for others.  I do though daydream about my training that I will do after work, or the feeling I get after crossing a finish line.  This journey will be a very selfish one I know, but since I have no one depending on me for anything, now is a good time.  I sit and think all the time about the blood, sweat, and tears that will go into earning the M-Dot, but I know it will all be worth it.

There is a total of 140.6 miles that is required to travel inside the 17 hour time limit.  That doesn’t even seem fathomable to most people.  Three events broken down as follows: 2.4 miles swim, 112 mile bike ride, and then ending the day/night with running a full marathon of 26.2 miles.  The cannon goes off at 7 am and the swimmers hit the waters.

There is a high cost to be a triathlete before you even get to race fees.  A lower model tri-bike will easily run you $2,000, a wet suit will set you back a few hundred dollars, and then all of the shoes you have to buy.  I still haven’t finished a full year as someone I would call a runner, but I have already gone through 5 or 6 pairs of running shoes.  Training is expensive, and then when you look at race fees the costs continue to rise.  The Ironman event I am going to register for 2013, Ironman Arizona, will set me back roughly $650.  I have learned to cut costs in order to afford the various pieces of equipment and race fees.

I know that the race is a long ways away.  I am starting training for it already though.  I am doing the Utah half-iron this summer.  I want to to start sharing my experiences and hopefully this will help create accountability for myself.  I don’t want to just talk about doing an Ironman; I want to be an Ironman.

When I have told people, “Hey I am going to do and finish an Ironman” I get the response, you’re nuts, or you’re an idiot.  I have learned a lot about myself in the last year of racing.  The one main thing I have learned though is I don’t like being inside my comfort zone.  I love pushing well past the point of pain, into the point of insanity I am sure.  On some days I wake up 4:30AM hit the gym, go to work, and then after work run back to the gym to bike, and then run back home.  The only thing I focus on tends to be training.  I know while I am young, or still think I am young, and single, I can devote all of the time in the world to training.  I want this too much to not train.

Seeing what our body is made of is what makes this life fun.  Besides, who doesn’t love to swim, bike, or run.  The rush of endorphins training gives off makes it all worth it, right?  Below, is the infamous video of Julie Moss falling and getting passed right before the finish line in 1982 race at Kona.  The video truly gives me chills.  The determination on her face and will power exemplifies everything that I want to be when it comes to racing.

I have only had a limited background in running.  I have only performed 1 multi-sport race and that was this past weekend.  How do I know I will be able to continue the training for so long? I don’t know, and I have suffered from burnout, but I do know that when I put my mind to something it is going to happen.  I don’t expect to have a mind blowing time, qualify for Kona, or any other wild desires, I just want Mike Reilly, the PA announcer, to say “Logan Julian of Chattanooga, TN you are an Ironman”.  Yes I live in Utah, but I will totally represent the hometown.

In order to ensure I am able to get a spot in Ironman Arizona, IMAZ, I am seriously considering going to Tempe to volunteer for this year’s race.   I think it would be a great experience and allow me to have a guaranteed spot for 2013.  The cost is steep, yes, but being able to say I am an Ironman is priceless.

One thing is for sure, when I toe the line in a year and a half I will give 100% that I have to give for those 17 hours.  I know things happen and sometimes you get a DNF, but it will not be because I didn’t try.  I was thinking today if it scares me to undertake such a big task and all I could think of was not yes but hell yes it terrifies me.  Not only the amount of work and training that goes into becoming an Ironman, but the potential for it all to hit the fan and blow back up in my face.  This all goes back around to me enjoying being out of my comfort level though.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. PDX Running Chick / Apr 18 2012 11:56 am

    Good luck to you!! I think your goal is wonderful and people who tell you are crazy are living a stifled life. I want to do an Ironman, myself, but its years off (and I’m not young!) because I can’t swim :) I can fake it, but that’s certainly not good enough! I will do an Endurance Du this year, though and I’m excited about that! Fear is healthy. The fear, I think, makes me feel like I’m on the right track!!

  2. L J (@Dabobie) / Apr 19 2012 5:49 pm

    I don’t know where to start…first off, I love this quote by you ” I don’t want to just talk about doing an Ironman; I want to be an Ironman.” I think that would be an excellent mantra and something someone would put on a tshirt :) You want this therefore you’ll get it, I have no doubt.

    Also, that video! I wanted to cry watching her body stop! Train hard, fuel your body and I know you’ll soon be an Ironman!

Trackbacks

  1. Well-Done Wednesday (4/18/2012) « the motivated runner
  2. Signed up for my first Ironman « ironmaninthesnow

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

