Skip to content
January 30, 2013 / snowvols

I’ve Come Along Way

So I this week I received a photo of me from a few years ago.  I was planning on swimming that night as I had just gotten my underwater mp3 player in the mail.  Can you say freaking SWEET! Who would have thought you have listen to music while you swim?!? That makes swimming so much more enjoyable for this triathlete.

While I was swimming though I kept thinking about this photo I received.  It was on the front of an invitation for a bachelor party as one of my good friends is getting married.  I looked at it and couldn’t make out who the huge guy with the orange shirt on.  Then it dawned on me.  That as me I was looking at from a few years ago.  During my swim I couldn’t believe that I didn’t even recognize myself.  I joke that when I go home and I haven’t seen someone for a long time they generally don’t recognize me.  How did I not even recognize myself?

ImageHave I really changed that much as I don’t recognize what I looked like just a few short years ago?  I guess I have.  I know I have come a long ways.  Honestly though, when I look in the mirror I still see myself as someone bigger than I am.  I guess it is a mental complexion as I have of myself, but hopefully that goes away over time. 

I can never seeing myself being unhealthy again, but I just found this photo to be really telling of my journey. 

“The will to win, the desire to succeed, the urge to reach your full potential… these are the keys that will unlock the door to personal excellence”
 – Confucius

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. tlsylvan / Jan 30 2013 7:59 pm

    That is incredible, I would have never guessed that was you. You really have come a long way, congrats!

Leave a comment